Mandoline Hybride

Founded in 2007 by Montreal-based artist Priscilla Guy, Mandoline Hybride explores the body in motion through different medias:  Videodances, site specific choreographies, video installations, and multidisciplinary stage performances. Everyday architecture, nature and gestures, as well as choreographic editing are at the center of Priscilla Guy’s creative approach.

Mandoline Hybride has presented works in more than 15 cities in Quebec and Canada, as well as in the United States, France, and Spain, in addition to several international festivals where Priscilla Guy’s films were screened. Mandoline Hybride has developed a specialized expertize in screendance since 2012, notably through the Regards Hybrides’ platform, cofounded by Priscilla Guy and Claudia Hébert (Toronto, Canada), dedicated to dance on screen and its articulation, development, and influence.

regardshybrides.com

PRIZES AND RECOGNITION

During its 5th anniversary celebration in 2012, Mandoline Hybride received the Prix Culture from LOJIQ for its performances of MOVING INSTALLATIONS in Paris and Saint-Malo (France). In 2014, Mandoline Hybride was given the «Most Innovative Use of Sound/Music» award at LightMoves Festival of Screendance (Ireland) for its film CORRIDORS.

Artistic director

Originally from Sherbrooke (Canada), Priscilla Guy is a multidisciplinary artist who has been based in Montreal since 2005. She holds a BFA in visual arts (Concordia University, Montreal, Canada) and an MA in contemporary dance (York University, Toronto, Canada). She is primarily interested in everyday gestures, and transforming the objects and architectures that surround her through pedestrian movement in order to reveal the poetic and politic discourse they embody.

Priscilla Guy participates in the development of crossings between movement and cinema as a curator for screenings, a conference speaker, a cultural mediator and a screendance artists. She collaborates with international experts on several academic publications on screendance, notably for The Oxford Handbook of Screendance Studies (New York, USA), The International Journal of Screendance (Wisconsin, USA), La creación híbrida en videodanza (Mexico), The Dance Current, and CINE TFO (Toronto, Canada). She is now a PhD candidate in cinema at Université de Lille 3, in France.

Priscilla has been the director of communications at theatre La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines in Montreal between 2014 and 2016. She has sat on the evaluation committee of the dance section of Montreal art council from 2013 to 2015, and has also been a member of La danse sur les routes du Québec’s Board of directors from 2011 to 2015.

Board of directors

PRESIDENT
Paule Bolduc, Hachette Canada

VICE-PRESIDENT
Chantal Lamirande, Cégep of Montmorency

SECRETARY
Roxanne Mercier, Communication manager

TREASURER
Luce Couture, artists booking and development

ADMINISTRATION
Emilie Morin, dance artist
Marie Bernier, independant cultural agent
Priscilla Guy, artistic and general director of Mandoline Hybride

Collaborators

ORGANIZATIONS

CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE (CANADA)
L’ANIMAL A L’ESQUENA (SPAIN)
AGITE Y SIRVA (MEXICO)
CAMILLAU (FRANCE)
STUDIO AMETAC (CANADA)

ARTISTS
SVETLA ATANASOVA
JOËL-AIMÉ BEAUCHAMPS
JOHN BOYLE-SINGFIELD
PAUL CHAMBERS
CHIMWEMWE DAVE MILLER
ÉTIENNE DESPRÉS
SIMON ELMALEH
MICHEL F. CÔTÉ
LOUIS FORTIN
HARMONIE FORTIN-LÉVEILLÉ
CLAUDIA HÉBERT
JEAN-PHILIPPE GUY
CATHERINE LAVOIE-MARCUS
XAVIER MALO
LUCIE MONSARRAT-CHANON
EMILIE MORIN
MARC-ANDRÉ POLIQUIN
SÉBASTIEN PROVENCHER
ANTOINE QUIRION COUTURE
TIMOTHY RODRIGUES
LAURENCE SABOURIN-LAFLAMME
JESSICA SERLI

Mandoline Hybride

Fondée en 2007 à Montréal par l’artiste Priscilla Guy, Mandoline Hybride explore le corps en mouvement à travers différents médias ;  vidéodanses, chorégraphies in situ; installations vidéo; performances scéniques multidisciplinaires. La quotidienneté, le geste et le montage chorégraphique sont au coeur de la démarche de création de la compagnie.

Mandoline Hybride a présenté son travail dans plus de 15 villes au Québec et au Canada, ainsi qu’aux États-Unis, en France et en Espagne, sans compter les nombreux festivals internationaux où sont projetés les films de Priscilla Guy. Mandoline Hybride est par ailleurs devenue une référence en matière de danse à l’écran depuis 2012, notamment via la plateforme Regards Hybrides, cofondée par Priscilla Guy et Claudia Hébert (Toronto, Canada).

regardshybrides.com

PRIX ET RECONNAISSANCE

Au moment de fêter ses 5 ans en 2012, Mandoline Hybride recevait le Prix Culture de LOJIQ pour ses prestations du projet LES INSTALLATIONS MOUVANTES à Paris et Saint-Malo (France). En 2014, Mandoline Hybride est récipiendaire du prix « Most Innovative Use of Sound/Music » au LightMoves Festival of Screendance (Irlande) pour son film CORRIDORS.

Directrice artistique

Originaire de Sherbrooke (Canada), Priscilla Guy est une artiste multidisciplinaire basée à Montréal, diplômée d’un baccalauréat en arts visuels (Université Concordia, Montréal, Canada) et d’une maîtrise en danse contemporaine (Université York, Toronto, Canada). Elle s’intéresse principalement à la notion de quotidienneté, détournant les gestes et architectures qui l’entourent pour en révéler un sous-texte à la fois poétique et politique.

Priscilla participe au foisonnement des croisements entre mouvement et cinéma à titre de commissaire pour des soirées de projection, de conférencière, de médiatrice culturelle, de conseillère artistique et de créatrice en vidéodanse. Elle collabore avec des experts à l’international sur de nombreuses publications dédiées à la danse à l’écran: auteure d’un chapitre sur le montage chorégraphique pour The Oxford Handbook of Screendance Studies (New York, É-U), ses essais sont aussi publiés dans l’International Journal of Screendance (Wisconsin, É-U), La creación híbrida en videodanza (Mexique), The Dance Current et CINÉ TFO (Toronto, Canada). Elle poursuit présentement des études doctorales en cinéma à l’Université de Lille 3, en France.

Priscilla a travaillé comme directrice des communications à La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines de 2014 à 2016. Elle a fait partie du comité d’évaluation du Conseil des arts de Montréal de 2013 à 2015 et a également siégé au Conseil d’administration de La danse sur les routes du Québec de 2011 à 2015.

Conseil d’administration

PRÉSIDENTE
Paule Bolduc, responsable des relations de presse à Hachette Canada

VICE-PRÉSIDENTE
Chantal Lamirande, chorégraphe, enseignante et coordonnatrice du Département de danse du Collège Montmorency

SECRÉTAIRE
Roxanne Mercier, agente de communication

TRÉSORIER
George Krump, gestionnaire culturel indépendant

ADMINISTRATRICES
Emilie Morin, artiste en danse
Luce Couture, diffusion et développement
Priscilla Guy, fondatrice, directrice générale et artistique de Mandoline Hybride

Collaborateurs

ORGANISMES

CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE (CANADA)
L’ANIMAL A L’ESQUENA (ESPAGNE)
AGITE Y SIRVA (MEXIQUE)
CAMILLAU (FRANCE)
STUDIO AMETAC (CANADA)

ARTISTES

SVETLA ATANASOVA
JOËL-AIMÉ BEAUCHAMPS
JOHN BOYLE-SINGFIELD
PAUL CHAMBERS
CHIMWEMWE DAVE MILLER
ÉTIENNE DESPRÉS
SIMON ELMALEH
MICHEL F. CÔTÉ
LOUIS FORTIN
HARMONIE FORTIN-LÉVEILLÉ
CLAUDIA HÉBERT
JEAN-PHILIPPE GUY
CATHERINE LAVOIE-MARCUS
XAVIER MALO
LUCIE MONSARRAT-CHANON
EMILIE MORIN
MARC-ANDRÉ POLIQUIN
SÉBASTIEN PROVENCHER
ANTOINE QUIRION COUTURE
TIMOTHY RODRIGUES
LAURENCE SABOURIN-LAFLAMME
JESSICA SERLI

CORRIDORS (2014) | FILM

DESCRIPTION COURTE

Filmé à Barcelone (Espagne) en juillet 2014.
La terre tremble, devant. Sous ses pas, le sol se dérobe. Elle se faufile dans les interstices de la canicule. Elle tremble. Elle ne pleure pas. Elle ne sait pas. Elle reste immobile. Elle avance.

ÉQUIPE
DIRECTION ARTISITIQUE, CAMÉRA ET MONTAGE
Priscilla Guy
COMPOSITION SONORE
Joël-Aimé Beauchamps
INTERPRÉTATION
Emilie Morin
CORRECTION COULEUR
Antoine Quirion Couture

*Avec le soutien du CALQ.

PARCOURS DU FILM
*Gagnant du prix « Most Innovative Use of Sound/Music » au Light Moves Festival of Screendance (Irlande)

La SPEC du Haut-Richelieu, Canada (jan. 2016)
Parcours Danse, Agora de la danse, Canada (déc. 2015)
Cinédanse Québec, Ville de Québec, Canada (sept. 2015)
Agite Y Sirva Festival, Oaxaca, Mexique (août 2015)
International Screendance Festival, C. du N., États-Unis (juillet 2015)
Théâtre du Vieux Treuil, Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Canada (juin 2015)
Festival de vidéodanse de Bourgogne, Creusot, France (mai 2015)
Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois, Montréal, Canada (fév. 2014)
Light Moves Festival of Screendance, Limerick, Irlande (nov. 2014)
Cinéma Jean Eustache, Bordeaux, France (juin 2014)
Centre pénitencier de Bordeaux-Gradignan, France (juin 2014)
Festival Müvers, Barcelone, Espagne (juin 2014)