Break at work: performance and interviews with the group Sweet technique

Webcast from January 26 to 31 (activate English subtitles with CC button in the video below)

At the end of their two-week residency in Salon58 in Haute-Gaspésie, the break collective Sweet technique participated in an electrifying filming at the Maison de la culture de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts on January 9. During this shooting, the artists delivered a breathtaking performance in addition to sharing their vision of break in interviews with the director Jonathan Gaudreau.

Exclusive free viewing
Le break à l’œuvre (Break at Work) is a 42-minute performance-documentary that chronicles the journey of three high-caliber artists from Sweet Technique and highlights the challenges of a dance that is both individual and collective, artistic and athletic. With robust performances that showcase the artists’ total commitment, the film offers a fascinating glimpse into the world of break dancing today, from the perspective of a Canadian collective.

Credits

With
SOVANN ROCHON-PROM TEP alias PROMO
LÉO CARON alias FLÉAU
VICTOR SONO aka VICIOUS

Original idea, artistic direction and production
PRISCILLA GUY

Direction, camera and editing
JONATHAN GAUDREAU

Music – break segments
MARC BRIFFAUD aka DJ B.LAVA

Music – interviews
STEVEN BEDDALL
ALTEREGO
ASI C

Lighting and technical direction
HUGO SOUCY

Stage management and technical assistance
CLAUDE CHAREST

Hosting and production assistance
MONIQUE CAMPION

Volunteers
CATHERINE BEAU-FERRON
THEODORE ROBERGE
MARLÈNE SOHIER
FRANÇOIS HOULE

Set photographer
MOÏSE MARCOUX-CHABOT

Graphic designer
ÉTIENNE DESPRÉS

Coordination and communications
CLOTILDE DYOTTE-GABELIER

Administration
MARIE-CHARLOTTE CASTONGUAY-HARVEY

Shot on January 9, 2022 at the Maison de la culture de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts

A production of
MANDOLINE HYBRIDE
mandolinehybride.com

All rights reserved

Sweet technique in residence at Salon58
Mandoline Hybride starts the year 2022 with a bang by welcoming Sweet technique, a collective composed of breakers Sovann Rochon-Prom Tep aka Promo, Léo Caron aka Fleau & Victor Gustavo Sono Ochoa aka Vicious, for an artistic residency at Salon58 from December 27th 2021 to January 10th 2022! These Canadian champions have won numerous international battles over the past ten years and are pillars of the break dancing scene in Quebec: organizers of major events and experienced trainers of young people, they are actively involved in discussions on the integration of break dancing into the upcoming Olympic Games. The Sweet technique team will take advantage of its residency to train daily, to think about the next edition of its break event Skillz-O-Meter and to exchange on the current events of the practice.

A look back at the workshops

Zoom Workshops – Jan. 8th, free
On Saturday January 8, break workshops were offered by Sweet technique, as well as a rap music and lyrics writing workshop led by Quebec City rapper Sensei H, Micmac rapper Q-052 and DJ Monsieur Nokturn from Gaspé:

• 10:00 am to 11:30 am – beginner break workshop
• 12:00 pm to 1:30 pm – intermediate break workshop
• 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm – rap and lyrics writing workshop (10 years and older)

About Sensei H, Q052 and DJ Monsieur Nokturn
Rimouski-born rapper Sensei H (Sirine Hassini), now living in Quebec City, has carved out a place for herself on the underground hip-hop scene with her incisive prose and authenticity. Having just released her new album Focus, she will share her background with the participants of the “rap and lyric writing” workshop.

Gesgapegiag’s micmac rapper Q052 (Quentin Condo) and his faithful sidekick DJ Monsieur Nokturn from Gaspé (Olivier Brien) will take part in the Saturday workshop, injecting their emblematic presence! Nominated at the ADISQ and Indigenous Music Awards, the committed rapper Q052 already has two albums to his credit as well as several collaborations, since he discovered rap as a means of expression in 2017. For his part, DJ Mr. Nokturn has been active on the electronic and hip-hop scenes for over 12 years, putting his art at the center of his activist approach, and striving to be a vector of change in his community.

Sensei H, Q052 et DJ Monsieur Nokturn.

An event produced and presented by Mandoline Hybride in collaboration with the Maison de la culture de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts.

Artists
Sweet technique – Promo, Fléau, Vicious
Q052
Sensei H
DJ Monsieur Nokturn

Partners
Canada Council for the Arts
Quebec Council of Arts and Letters
CLD of Haute-Gaspésie
City of Sainte-Anne-des-Monts
Saint-Maxime School
Notre-Dame-des-Neiges School

Photos:
1) Carousel: Jonathan Gaudreau et Moïse Marcoux-Chabot
2) Courtesy of Q-052
3) Sensei H by Yvan Couillard
4) DJ Monsieur Nokturn by Maxime Caron

Le break à l’œuvre : performance et entretiens avec le groupe Sweet technique

Webdiffusion terminée, merci d’avoir visionné!

Le break à l'œuvre

Au terme de sa résidence de deux semaines à Salon58 en Haute-Gaspésie, le collectif de break Sweet technique a participé à un tournage électrisant à la Maison de la culture de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts le 9 janvier dernier. Lors de ce tournage, les artistes ont livré une performance époustouflante en plus de partager leur vision du break dans le cadre d’entretiens avec le réalisateur Jonathan Gaudreau‍.

Visionnement gratuit en primeur
Le break à l’œuvre est un docu-performance de 42 minutes qui retrace les moments marquants du parcours de trois artistes de haut calibre membres du groupe Sweet technique et qui met en lumière les défis d’une danse à la fois individuelle et collective, artistique et athlétique. Avec des performances robustes dans lesquelles les artistes font preuve d’un engagement total, le film offre une incursion fascinante dans le monde du break d’aujourd’hui, du point de vue d’un collectif d’ici.

Crédits

Avec
SOVANN ROCHON-PROM TEP alias PROMO
LÉO CARON alias FLÉAU
VICTOR SONO alias VICIOUS

Idée originale, direction artistique et production
PRISCILLA GUY

Réalisation, caméra et montage
JONATHAN GAUDREAU

Musique – segments de break
MARC BRIFFAUD alias DJ B.LAVA

Musique – entretiens
STEVEN BEDDALL
ALTEREGO
ASI C

Lumière et direction technique
HUGO SOUCY

Régie et assistance technique
CLAUDE CHAREST

Accueil et assistance à la production
MONIQUE CAMPION

Bénévoles
CATHERINE BEAU-FERRON
THÉODORE ROBERGE
MARLÈNE SOHIER
FRANÇOIS HOULE

Photographe de plateau
MOÏSE MARCOUX-CHABOT

Graphiste
ÉTIENNE DESPRÉS

Coordination et communications
CLOTILDE DYOTTE-GABELIER

Administration
MARIE-CHARLOTTE CASTONGUAY-HARVEY

Tourné le 9 janvier 2022 à la Maison de la culture de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts

Une production de
MANDOLINE HYBRIDE
mandolinehybride.com

Tous droits réservés

Sweet technique en résidence à Salon58
Mandoline Hybride démarre l’année 2022 en trombe en accueillant Sweet technique, collectif composé des breakers Sovann Rochon-Prom Tep alias Promo, Léo Caron alias Fleau & Victor Gustavo Sono Ochoa alias Vicious, pour une résidence artistique à Salon58 du 27 décembre 2021 au 10 janvier 2022! Ces champions canadiens ont remporté de nombreux battles à l’international depuis dix ans et sont des piliers du milieu du break au Québec : organisateurs d’événements d’envergure et formateurs chevronnés auprès des jeunes, ils participent activement aux discussions sur l’intégration du break aux prochains Jeux Olympiques. L’équipe de Sweet technique profitera de sa résidence pour s’entraîner quotidiennement, réfléchir à la prochaine édition de son événement de break Skillz-O-Meter et échanger sur l’actualité de la pratique.

Retour sur les ateliers

Ateliers sur Zoom
Le 8 janvier dernier, des ateliers virtuels de break étaient offerts par Sweet technique, de même qu’un atelier de rap et d’écriture de textes dirigé par la rappeuse de Québec Sensei H, le rappeur micmac Q-052 et le DJ Monsieur Nokturn de Gaspé:

• 10h00 à 11h30 – break niveau débutant
• 12h00 à 13h30 – break niveau intermédiaire
• 15h00 à 18h00 – rap et écriture de textes (10 ans et +)

À propos de Sensei H, Q052 et DJ Monsieur Nokturn
La rappeuse originaire de Rimouski vivant maintenant à Québec, Sensei H (Sirine Hassini) s’est taillé une place de choix sur la scène hip-hop underground avec sa prose incisive et son authenticité. Alors qu’elle vient tout juste de sortir son nouvel album Focus, elle partagera son bagage avec les participant·es de l’atelier «rap et écriture de textes».

Le rappeur micmac de Gesgapegiag Q052 (Quentin Condo) et son fidèle acolyte le DJ Monsieur Nokturn de Gaspé (Olivier Brien) prendront part à l’atelier du samedi, en y injectant leur emblématique présence survoltée! Nominé à l’ADISQ et aux Indigenous Music Awards, le rappeur engagé Q052 compte déjà deux albums à son actif ainsi que plusieurs collaborations, depuis qu’il a découvert le rap comme moyen d’expression en 2017. Pour sa part, DJ Monsieur Nokturn est bien actif sur les scènes électronique et hip-hop depuis plus de 12 ans, à mettre son art au centre de sa démarche militante, et à s’efforcer d’être un vecteur de changement dans sa communauté.

Sensei H, Q052 et DJ Monsieur Nokturn.

Un événement produit et présenté par Mandoline Hybride en collaboration avec la Maison de la culture de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts.

Artistes
Sweet technique – Promo, Fléau, Vicious
Q052
Sensei H
DJ Monsieur Nokturn

Partenaires
Conseil des arts du Canada
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec
CLD de la Haute-Gaspésie
Ville de Sainte-Anne-des-Monts
École Saint-Maxime
École Notre-Dame-des-Neiges

Crédits photos:
1) Carrousel: Jonathan Gaudreau et Moïse Marcoux-Chabot
2) Courtoisie Q-052
3) Sensei H par Yvan Couillard
4) DJ Monsieur Nokturn par Maxime Caron