Shared curation

For several years now, Mandoline Hybride has adopted a shared curatorial spirit to ensure the presence of multiple voices within its activities.

With these invitations launched, the general and artistic director of Mandoline Hybride Priscilla Guy reaffirms her willingness to think and act with others, and to express multiple realities which fall in line with the ethical commitments of the company.


Priscilla Guy | Artistic director and permanent curator of Mandoline Hybride

Priscilla Guy is a performer, choreographer, filmmaker, curator and researcher in the arts based in Marsoui, Gaspésie. She founded Mandoline Hybride in 2007, a banner under which she presents her scenic creations, in situ performances and choreographic short films on a local and international scale.

Also at the origin of several projects overseen by Mandoline Hybride (Regards Hybrides, Salon58, FURIES – contemporary dance festival) and involved in international collective projects (8DAYS, Expanded Hybrids), she is interested in the strength of the group to propel political, aesthetic and social ideas. She currently sits on the Board of Directors of Studio 303 and is pursuing doctoral studies at the University of Lille (France).

Karla Etienne | Guest artist-curator at Mandoline Hybride (2021-2023)

Read the press release >>>

Artist and cultural manager, Karla Etienne has worked with Zab Maboungou / Nyata Nyata Dance Company since 2003. She is the first graduate of their Artistic and Professional Dance Training Program (PEFAPDA) and is an accomplished dancer. Karla was part of major works by Zab Maboungou, including the iconic Mozongi, winner of the Grand Prix of the Conseil des arts de Montréal for dance in 2015, a prize that celebrated, “the astonishing performance of its performers”.

A distinguished graduate in management of cultural organizations and environmental studies, Karla Etienne continues her contribution as a performer, mentor, advisor, and most recently, as a philanthropist to artists and artistic organizations. Today, her commitment is notably recognized for the reformation of cultural policies concerning equity in the arts; in all institutions and organizations, at all levels of practice, management and programming, including among others, the Conseil des arts de Montréal. In 2021, she received the Nyata Nyata Stellar Prize for her service to the greater dance community. (Photo: Mathieu Gaudreault)

Sébastien Provencher | Co-artistic director of FURIES – contemporary dance festival

Visitez la page de FURIES – festival de danse contemporaine >>>

Sébastien Provencher s’intéresse à l’interdisciplinarité, aux formes de spectacles hybrides, à la frontière de plusieurs disciplines, où le corps et le mouvement sont au cœur de la proposition artistique. Il s’intéresse à l’art vivant comme objet d’engagement socio-politique. Il propose un art chorégraphique qui confronte, questionne et émeut. Formé en interprétation au département de danse de l’UQAM, Sébastien évolue dans le milieu de la danse contemporaine à titre d’interprète et de chorégraphe. Depuis sa formation, il a créé entre autres L’Apologie du Prince Charmant (2015), Children of Chemistry (2017), Deux Squelettes (2019) et il travaille actuellement sur deux nouvelles co-créations Bones&Wires (2021) et What Will Come (2021). Ses créations ont été présentées au Québec (Agora de la danse, Tangente Danse, ZH Festival), en Ontario (Citadel + Compagnie, Dance Matters) et en France. À titre d’interprète, il travaille entre Montréal et Toronto et il a notamment dansé pour Louise Bédard, George Stamos, Manon Oligny, Helen Simard, Emmanuel Jouthe, Sasha Kleinplatz, Martin Messier, Maïgwenn Desbois, DA Hoskins/Dietrich Group, Riley Sims/Social Growl Dance et Marie Lambin. (Photo: Caroline Désilets)

Guest curators (RIRH 2017 + 2019)

Inspired by these women of action, Priscilla Guy wishes to offer the public of the RIRH a multitude of views on creation in screendance, both current and historical.

Alanna Thain (Canada)
Emilie Morin (Canada)
Cara Hagan (United States)
Claudia Kappenberg (UK)
Ximena Monroy (Mexico)
Paulina Ruiz Carballido (Mexico-France)